Car seat checks scheduled for National Child Passenger Safety Week, Sept. 19 through 24


For Abington Journal



Gathering to promote National Child Passenger Safety Week, Sept. 19 through 24, from left, first row, Rebecca Rybak, Northeast Highway Safety, and Keri Kline, Northeast Highway Safety. Second row, Andrea B. Higdon, Traffic Safety Community Educator II, AAA Mid-Atlantic; Trooper Connie Devens, PA State Police, Dunmore; Cathy Connors, Northeast Regional Coordinator, Traffic Injury Prevention Project; William McQuiken, Trauma Prevention Coordinator for Lehigh Valley Health Network and Michele Newberry, Lackawanna County Highway Safety.


Submitted photo

DUNMORE — The Pennsylvania Department of Transportation (PennDOT), and State Police are encouraging motorists to participate in free child passenger safety seat checkups across NEPA, as the agencies mark National Child Passenger Safety Week, Sept. 19 through 24.

PennDOT funds resources such as training and educational materials for child passenger fitting stations across the state, designed to teach parents the proper installation and use of child safety seats.

Local car seat checks will be conducted as follows:

• 10:30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Thursday, Sept. 22 at McDade Park, 1 Bald Mountain Road, Scranton

• 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. Friday, Sept. 23, 2016 at Babies R US, 3300 Wilkes-Barre Commons, Wilkes-Barre

• 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. Tuesday, Sept. 20 at Tom Hesser’s Nissan in Dunmore

Pennsylvania Child Passenger Safety Protection Law requires all drivers to:

• Secure infants and children under eight years of age in an approved child restraint/booster when the child is riding anywhere in the motor vehicle, including the cargo area

• Secure children younger than 2 years of age in a rear-facing child passenger restraint system, to be used until the child outgrows the maximum weight and height limits designated by the car seat manufacturer

• Secure children 4 years of age or older but under 8 years of age in a seat belt system and an appropriately-fitting child booster seat

Pennsylvania’s Safety Belt Law mandates:

• Children ages 8 to 17 must use a seat belt. Violating this law is a primary offense.

• Drivers under 18 years of age may not operate a motor vehicle in which the number of passengers exceeds the number of available safety seat belts in the vehicle. Violating this law is a primary offense.

• Drivers and front-seat passengers age 18 and older are properly restrained. Violating this law is a secondary offense.

Because of the potential dangers associated with air bag deployment, children ages 12 and under should always ride buckled in a vehicle’s back seat.

Gathering to promote National Child Passenger Safety Week, Sept. 19 through 24, from left, first row, Rebecca Rybak, Northeast Highway Safety, and Keri Kline, Northeast Highway Safety. Second row, Andrea B. Higdon, Traffic Safety Community Educator II, AAA Mid-Atlantic; Trooper Connie Devens, PA State Police, Dunmore; Cathy Connors, Northeast Regional Coordinator, Traffic Injury Prevention Project; William McQuiken, Trauma Prevention Coordinator for Lehigh Valley Health Network and Michele Newberry, Lackawanna County Highway Safety.
http://theabingtonjournal.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/09/web1_ABJ-Child-Safety.jpgGathering to promote National Child Passenger Safety Week, Sept. 19 through 24, from left, first row, Rebecca Rybak, Northeast Highway Safety, and Keri Kline, Northeast Highway Safety. Second row, Andrea B. Higdon, Traffic Safety Community Educator II, AAA Mid-Atlantic; Trooper Connie Devens, PA State Police, Dunmore; Cathy Connors, Northeast Regional Coordinator, Traffic Injury Prevention Project; William McQuiken, Trauma Prevention Coordinator for Lehigh Valley Health Network and Michele Newberry, Lackawanna County Highway Safety. Submitted photo

For Abington Journal

Information provided by the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation.

Information provided by the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation.

comments powered by Disqus