Library News: April 8 is a busy day for the Abington Community Library


Library News - Laura Gardoski



It is that time of year again: the Friends of the Abington Community Library Spring Book Sale. Join us from 8:30 a.m. to 2 p.m. Saturday, April 8 at the Clarks Summit United Methodist Church. The Friends Preview Sale will be held from 5 to 8 p.m. April 7. People may join that night to participate.

Thousands of books, DVDs, and CDs will be available for purchase. Stop by the Teen Leadership Committee Bake Sale to purchase a snack and support the library. Also at the church from 11 a.m. to 2 p.m., check out the Medication Take-Back event, where all medications except needles, inhalers and liquids will be accepted.

Also on the same day, across the street at the library, acquaint yourself with many of the 25 local nonprofits currently participating in Scranton Area Community Foundation’s NEPA Match Day initiative. Learn what makes our community so special with Communities Matter Day from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

National Library Week is April 9-15, a time to highlight the changing role of libraries, librarians and library workers.

Libraries aren’t only a place of quiet study, but also creative and engaging community centers where people can collaborate using new technologies. Libraries of all types are evolving to meet the needs of the communities they serve. Elected officials, small business owners, students and the public at large depend upon libraries and the resources they offer to address the needs of their communities. By providing such resources as e-books and technology classes, materials for English-language learners, programs for job seekers or a safe haven in times of crisis, libraries and librarians transform their communities.

Be transported to another world and check out new science fiction books available here at the Abington Community Library:

• “Feedback” by Mira Grant

“We had cured cancer. We had beaten the common cold. But in doing so we unleashed something horrifying and unstoppable. The infection spread, leaving those afflicted with a single uncontrollable impulse: FEED.”

• “Apes and Angels” by Ben Bova

“Humankind headed out to the stars not for conquest, nor exploration, nor even for curiosity. Humans went to the stars in a desperate crusade to save intelligent life wherever they found it.”

• “Ghost Talkers” by Mary Robinette Kowal

“A novel of historical intrigue and fantastical danger, perfect for fans of Naomi Novik and Downton Abbey.”

• “Lightless” by C. A. Higgins

“Computer scientist Althea is ruled by her analytical mind, and aboard the military spacecraft Ananke, her most powerful bond is not with fellow crewmates, but with the ship’s electronic systems.” Book One of the Lightless Trilogy.

• “A Second Chance” by Jodi Taylor

At St. Mary’s Institute of Historical Research, historians “investigate major historical events in contemporary time,” in other words, time travel.

• “The Weaver” by Emmi Itäranta

Eliana is a model citizen of the island, a weaver in the prestigious House of Webs. She also harbors dangerous secrets – she can read, write, and dream.

http://theabingtonjournal.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/03/web1_ABJ-Laura-Gardoski-MUG.jpg

Library News

Laura Gardoski

Reach the Abington Journal newsroom at 570-587-1148 or [email protected]

Reach the Abington Journal newsroom at 570-587-1148 or [email protected]

comments powered by Disqus