TUNKHANNOCK — Do you know why there are so many lovely historic homes in Tunkhannock? Who lived in them? What makes them stunning architecturally?
A guided tour of Historic Tunkhannock homes begins begi at 5 p.m. Thursdays, May 18 and 25 and June 1, 8 and 15. Pre-registration is required. To make a reservation, call the Dietrich Theater at 570-996-1500.
This two-hour and two-mile tour takes people past homes, churches, the Wyoming County Courthouse and other buildings rich in Tunkhannock history.
Tunkhannock history goes back to 1771 when Zebulon Marcy saw possibilities of a great farming area. By 1830, it was a thriving little town. In 1838, a canal was constructed along the Susquehanna River, facilitating transportation and trade until 1869 when the rail industry began to replace the canal industry. Farming and businesses thrived and the population of the borough grew to 2,297 people in 1960.
Many scholars of historic towns have praised Tunkhannock for its authenticity, for keeping the historic character of the town intact. The Historic Tunkhannock Walking Tours serve to celebrate the architecture than is retained and maintained throughout.
The volunteer tour guides cover the downtown, using the printed guide, adding their own stories and anecdotes. The tour can also be self-guided. Guides are available at the Dietrich Theater and the Wyoming County Historical Society.
Information provided by the Dietrich Theater.